Classes and Events



Upcoming events

    • Saturday, November 29, 2014
    • 1:00 PM
    • Saturday, January 31, 2015
    • 3:00 PM
    • New Phoenix Pottery Classroom
    • 2
    Saturday afternoon adult wheel class running consecutively for 8 weeks from 1pm - 3pm each class. An option is available for additional time to practice skills throughout the week during staffed hours. Students will learn basics about working with clay: centering on the wheel, creating basic forms - such as mugs, bowls, plates and vases - on the wheel, trimming and glazing. Instruction in hand building is also an option.

    Clay is an additional cost of $18 for 25 lbs. and there will be a minimal glazing fee for each piece ($.50 per inch).

    If you currently have a voucher for a 6 week class and this class is the only one which fits your schedule, you may join this class for an additional $40.00

    • Tuesday, February 03, 2015
    • 6:30 PM
    • Tuesday, March 31, 2015
    • 8:30 PM
    • New Phoenix Pottery Classroom
    • 5
    Tuesday evening adult (14+) wheel class running consecutively for 8 weeks from 6:30pm-8:30pm each class. As a registered student, you may also come in during the week during staffed hours for extra practice of your new skills!



    Monday  5-8 pm  Cara H

    Tuesday  830am - 12:30pm  Josh P

    Wednesday 10am - 5pm  Josh P

    Thursday 9am - 1pm  Sherryn B

    Thursday  5-8pm   Cara H

    Friday  8:30am- 12:30pm  Josh P

    1st and 3rd Friday pm (of the month) 5-8pm  Cara H

    2nd and 4th Saturday am 10am - 1pm   Teena D


    Students will learn basics about working with clay: centering on the wheel, creating basic forms - such as mugs, bowls, plates and vases - on the wheel, trimming and glazing. Instruction in hand building is also an option.



    Clay is an additional cost of $18 for 25 lbs. and there will be a minimal glazing fee for each piece ($.50 per cubic inch).

    • Wednesday, February 04, 2015
    • 6:30 PM
    • Wednesday, April 01, 2015
    • 8:30 PM
    • New Phoenix Pottery Classroom
    • 4
    Wednesday evening adult (14+) wheel class running consecutively for 8 weeks from 6:30pm-8:30pm each class. As a registered student, you may also come in during the week during staffed hours for extra practice of your new skills!



    Monday  5-8 pm  Cara H

    Tuesday  830am - 12:30pm  Josh P

    Wednesday 10am - 5pm  Josh P

    Thursday 9am - 1pm  Sherryn B

    Thursday  5-8pm   Cara H

    Friday  8:30am- 12:30pm  Josh P

    1st and 3rd Friday pm (of the month) 5-8pm  Cara H

    2nd and 4th Saturday am 10am - 1pm   Teena D


    Students will learn basics about working with clay: centering on the wheel, creating basic forms - such as mugs, bowls, plates and vases - on the wheel, trimming and glazing. Instruction in hand building is also an option.



    Clay is an additional cost of $18 for 25 lbs. and there will be a minimal glazing fee for each piece ($.50 per cubic inch).

    • Thursday, February 05, 2015
    • 6:30 PM
    • Thursday, April 02, 2015
    • 8:30 PM
    • New Phoenix Pottery Classroom
    • 4
    Thursday evening adult (age 14+) The New Phoenix Pottery offers Hand building Pottery classes for those who want
    techniques other than the potter’s wheel

    Asymmetrical and symmetrical forms were created for centuries before the invention of the
    electric potter’s wheel, come with any questions you have about the rich history of hand building.

    Beginner, intermediate, and advanced students are all welcome.

    You will need:  ruler, scissors, construction paper or cardstock, some old newspaper, plastic grocery or garbage bags, medium size piece of foam, a basic pottery tool kit (we sell kits at the pottery).

    Each class will cover a basic technique, ways of expanding on that technique, and that
    technique’s possible connections to your personal artistic goals. If you have something you want
    to create, please bring in your ideas and/or sketches and we can discuss your best options for
    structural strength and your personal aesthetic.

    Techniques covered are: Pinched forms, Coiled forms, Slab forms, Hollow closed forms, composite forms (the combining of pinched, coiled, and slab elements in one piece),
    Template/volume forms (using paper templates and foam to construct voluminous pieces).

    As a registered student, you may also come in during the week during staffed hours for extra practice of your new skills!



    Monday  5-8 pm  Cara H

    Tuesday  830am - 12:30pm  Josh P

    Wednesday 10am - 5pm  Josh P

    Thursday 9am - 1pm  Sherryn B

    Thursday  5-8pm   Cara H

    Friday  8:30am- 12:30pm  Josh P

    1st and 3rd Friday pm (of the month) 5-8pm  Cara H

    2nd and 4th Saturday am 10am - 1pm   Teena D


    Clay is an additional cost of $18 for 25 lbs. and there will be a minimal glazing fee for each piece ($.035 per cubic inch ...$1.50 minimum).



    • Friday, February 06, 2015
    • 6:30 PM
    • Friday, April 03, 2015
    • 8:30 PM
    • New Phoenix Pottery Classroom
    • 8
    Friday morning adult (14+) wheel class running consecutively for 8 weeks from 6:30pm-8:30pm each class. As a registered student, you may also come in during the week during staffed hours for extra practice of your new skills!



    Monday  5-8 pm  Cara H

    Tuesday  830am - 12:30pm  Josh P

    Wednesday 10am - 5pm  Josh P

    Thursday 9am - 1pm  Sherryn B

    Thursday  5-8pm   Cara H

    Friday  8:30am- 12:30pm  Josh P

    1st and 3rd Friday pm (of the month) 5-8pm  Cara H

    2nd and 4th Saturday am 10am - 1pm   Teena D


    Students will learn basics about working with clay: centering on the wheel, creating basic forms - such as mugs, bowls, plates and vases - on the wheel, trimming and glazing. Instruction in hand building is also an option.



    Clay is an additional cost of $18 for 25 lbs. and there will be a minimal glazing fee for each piece ($.50 per cubic inch).

    • Saturday, February 07, 2015
    • 1:00 PM
    • Saturday, April 04, 2015
    • 3:00 PM
    • New Phoenix Pottery Classroom
    • 6
    Saturday afternoon adult (age 14+) wheel class running consecutively for 8 weeks from 1pm - 3pm each class. As a registered student, you may also come in during the week during staffed hours for extra practice of your new skills!



    Monday  5-8 pm  Cara H

    Tuesday  830am - 12:30pm  Josh P

    Wednesday 10am - 5pm  Josh P

    Thursday 9am - 1pm  Sherryn B

    Thursday  5-8pm   Cara H

    Friday  8:30am- 12:30pm  Josh P

    1st and 3rd Friday pm (of the month) 5-8pm  Cara H

    2nd and 4th Saturday am 10am - 1pm   Teena D


    Students will learn basics about working with clay: centering on the wheel, creating basic forms - such as mugs, bowls, plates and vases - on the wheel, trimming and glazing. Instruction in hand building is also an option.


    Clay is an additional cost of $18 for 25 lbs. and there will be a minimal glazing fee for each piece ($.50 per cubic inch).



    • Saturday, February 14, 2015
    • 9:00 AM - 12:00 PM (EST)
    • The New Phoenix Pottery
    • 0
    Registration is closed
    Come experience the joys of working with clay. This class is for beginners who want to explore working with clay on the wheel. You will learn how to center your clay, make basic shapes and choose glazes for your pieces.

    Please note: An $8 fee applies to cover the cost of clay and glazing. Thank you!
    • Saturday, March 14, 2015
    • 9:00 AM - 12:00 PM (EDT)
    • The New Phoenix Pottery
    • 1
    Come experience the joys of working with clay. This class is for beginners who want to explore working with clay on the wheel. You will learn how to center your clay, make basic shapes and choose glazes for your pieces.

    Please note: An $8 fee applies to cover the cost of clay and glazing. Thank you!

Past events

Saturday, January 24, 2015 Saturday Adult Try It! Class Jan. 24th , 2015 9am-12pm (3-Hour try-it class)
Saturday, December 13, 2014 Saturday Adult Try It! Class December 13th, 2014 9am-12pm (3-Hour try-it class)
Wednesday, November 19, 2014 Advanced beginner/Intermediate Adult 8 week Wheel Class: Wednesdays 6:30 - 8:30PM , November 19th - January 21st, 2014
Tuesday, November 18, 2014 Advanced beginner/Intermediate Adult 8 week Wheel Class: Tuesdays 6:30 - 8:30PM , November 13th, - January 13th 2014
Friday, November 07, 2014 Friday night Adult Try It BYOB! Class November 7th, 2014 6pm-9pm (3-Hour try-it class)
Saturday, November 01, 2014 Saturday Adult Try It! Make slab built Christmas Ornaments Class November 15th, 2014 9am-12pm (3-Hour try-it class)
Saturday, November 01, 2014 Saturday Adult Try It! Make Christmas Ornaments Class November 1st, 2014 9am-12pm (3-Hour try-it class)
Friday, October 31, 2014 Friday night Adult Try It BYOB! Class October 31st, 2014 6pm-9pm (3-Hour try-it class)
Saturday, October 18, 2014 Saturday Adult Try It! Class October 18th, 2014 9am-12pm (3-Hour try-it class)
Friday, September 26, 2014 Friday night Adult Try It BYOB! Class September 26th, 2014 6pm-9pm (3-Hour try-it class)
Saturday, September 20, 2014 Saturday Adult Try It! Class September 20th, 2014 9am-12pm (3-Hour try-it class)
Wednesday, September 17, 2014 Advanced beginner/Intermediate Adult 8 week Wheel Class: Wednesdays 6:30 - 8:30PM , September 17th - November 12th, 2014
Tuesday, September 16, 2014 Advanced beginner/Intermediate Adult 8 week Wheel Class: Tuesdays 6:30 - 8:30PM , Sept 16th - November 11th, 2014
Monday, September 15, 2014 Monday Evening Adult Try It! September 15th, 2014 6-9pm (3-Hour try-it class)
Saturday, September 13, 2014 beginner/advanced beginner wheel class Saturday 1-3pm, September 13th - November 8th 2014
Friday, September 12, 2014 Advanced beginner/Intermediate Adult 8 week Wheel Class: Fridays 10am - 12pm, Sept 12th - Nov 7th, 2014
Saturday, September 06, 2014 Saturday Adult Try It! Class September 6th, 2014 9am-12pm (3-Hour try-it class)
Monday, August 25, 2014 Monday Evening Adult Try It! Aug 25th, 2014 5:30-8:30pm (3-Hour try-it class)
Saturday, August 16, 2014 Saturday Adult Try It! Class August 16th, 2014 9am-12pm (3-Hour try-it class)
Monday, August 04, 2014 Monday Evening Adult Try It! Aug 4th, 2014 5:30-8:30pm (3-Hour try-it class)
Saturday, August 02, 2014 Sunday Adult Try It! Class July 20th, 2014 1-4pm (3-Hour try-it class)
Saturday, August 02, 2014 Saturday Adult Try It! Class August 2nd, 2014 9am-12pm (3-Hour try-it class)
Monday, July 21, 2014 Monday Evening Adult Try It! July 21st, 2014 6-9pm (3-Hour try-it class)
Saturday, July 19, 2014 Saturday Adult Try It! Class July 19th, 2014 9am-12pm (3-Hour try-it class)
Wednesday, July 16, 2014 Advanced beginner/Intermediate Adult 8 week Wheel Class: Wednesdays 6:30 - 8:30PM , July 16 - Sept 10th, 2014
Tuesday, July 15, 2014 Advanced beginner/Intermediate Adult 8 week Wheel Class: Tuesdays 6:30 - 8:30PM , July 15 - Sept 9th, 2014
Saturday, July 12, 2014 beginner/advanced beginner wheel class Saturday 1-3pm, July 12th - September 6th 2014
Monday, July 07, 2014 Monday Evening Adult Try It! July 7th, 2014 6-9pm (3-Hour try-it class)
Saturday, July 05, 2014 Saturday Adult Try It! Class July 5th, 2014 9am-12pm (3-Hour try-it class)
Saturday, June 14, 2014 Saturday Adult Try It! Class June 14th, 2014 9am-12pm (3-Hour try-it class)
Monday, June 09, 2014 Monday Evening Adult Try It! June 9th, 2014 9am-12pm (3-Hour try-it class)
Saturday, June 07, 2014 Saturday Adult Try It! Class June 7th, 2014 9am-12pm (3-Hour try-it class)
Thursday, June 05, 2014 Thursday Evening Adult Try It! Class June 5th, 2014 9am-12pm (3-Hour try-it class)
Saturday, May 24, 2014 Saturday Adult Try It! Class May 24th, 2014 9am-12pm (3-Hour try-it class)
Monday, May 19, 2014 Monday Evening Adult Try It! Class May 19th, 2014 9am-12pm (3-Hour try-it class)
Saturday, May 17, 2014 Saturday Adult Try It! Class May 17th, 2014 9am-12pm (3-Hour try-it class)
Friday, May 16, 2014 Advanced beginner/Intermediate Adult 8 week Wheel Class: Fridays 10am - 12pm, May 16 - July 11, 2014
Thursday, May 15, 2014 Beginner / Advanced beginner / Intermediate Adult 8 week Wheel Class: Thursdays 6:30 - 8:30PM , May 15 - July 10, 2014
Wednesday, May 14, 2014 Advanced beginner/Intermediate Adult 8 week Wheel Class: Wednesdays 6:30 - 8:30PM , May 14 - July 9, 2014
Tuesday, May 13, 2014 Advanced beginner/Intermediate Adult 8 week Wheel Class: Tuesdays 6:30 - 8:30PM , May 13 - July 8, 2014
Saturday, May 10, 2014 beginner/advanced beginner wheel class Saturday 1-3pm,May 10- June 28 2014
Saturday, May 03, 2014 Saturday Adult Try It! Class May 3, 2014 9am-12pm (3-Hour try-it class)
Saturday, April 19, 2014 Saturday Adult Try It! Class April 19, 2014 9am-12pm (3-Hour try-it class)
Saturday, April 05, 2014 Saturday Adult Try It! Class April 5, 2014 9am-12pm (3-Hour try-it class)
Saturday, March 29, 2014 Saturday Adult Try It! Class March 29th, 2014 9am-12pm (3-Hour try-it class)
Saturday, March 22, 2014 Saturday Adult Try It! Class March 22nd, 2014 9am-12pm (3-Hour try-it class)
Saturday, March 15, 2014 Saturday Adult Try It! Class March 15th, 2014 9am-12pm (3-Hour try-it class)
Friday, March 14, 2014 Advanced beginner/Intermediate Adult 8 week Wheel Class: Fridays 10am - 12pm, Mar 14 - May 9, 2014
Wednesday, March 12, 2014 Advanced beginner/Intermediate Adult 8 week Wheel Class: Wednesdays 6:30 - 8:30PM , Mar 12 - May 7, 2014
Saturday, March 08, 2014 Beginner/Intermediate Adult 8 week Wheel Class: Saturdays 1-3PM , March 8 - May 3, 2014
Saturday, March 08, 2014 Saturday Adult Try It! Class March 8th, 2014 9am-12pm (3-Hour try-it class)
Saturday, February 22, 2014 Saturday Adult Try It! Class Feb 22nd, 2014 9am-12pm (3-Hour try-it class)
Saturday, February 08, 2014 Saturday Adult Try It! Class Feb 8th, 2014 9am-12pm (3-Hour try-it class)
Saturday, January 25, 2014 Saturday Adult Try It! Class Jan 25, 2014 9am-12pm (3-Hour try-it class)
Saturday, January 11, 2014 Saturday Adult Try It! Class Jan 11, 2014 9am-12pm (3-Hour try-it class)
Wednesday, January 08, 2014 Advanced beginner/Intermediate Adult 8 week Wheel Class: Wednesdays 6:30 - 8:30PM , Jan 8 - March 5, 2014
Tuesday, January 07, 2014 Intermediate Adult 8 week Wheel Class: Tuesdays 6:30 - 8:30PM, Jan 7 - March 4, 2014
Saturday, January 04, 2014 Beginner/Intermediate Adult 8 week Wheel Class: Saturdays 1-3PM , Jan 4- March 1, 2014
Friday, January 03, 2014 Beginner/Intermediate Adult 8 week Wheel Class: Fridays 10am-12pm. Jan 3 - Feb 28 , 2014
Saturday, December 21, 2013 Saturday Adult Try It! Class Dec 21st, 1pm-4pm (3-Hour try-it class)
Saturday, December 21, 2013 Saturday Adult Try It! Class Dec 21st, 9am-12pm (3-Hour try-it class)
Saturday, December 07, 2013 Saturday Adult Try It! Class Dec 7th, 9am-12pm (3-Hour try-it class)
Saturday, November 23, 2013 Saturday Adult Try It! Class Nov 23th, 9am-Noon (3-Hour)
Saturday, November 02, 2013 Beginner/Intermediate Adult Wheel Class: Saturdays 1-3PM , Nov. 2- Dec 14 2013
Thursday, October 31, 2013 Beginner/Intermediate Adult Wheel Class: Thursdays PM , Oct 31 - Dec 12 2013
Thursday, October 31, 2013 Beginner/Intermediate Adult Wheel Class: Thursdays AM 10-12, Oct 31 - Dec 12, 2013
Wednesday, October 30, 2013 Advanced beginner/Intermediate Adult Wheel Class: Wednesdays PM , Oct 30- Dec 11, 2013
Tuesday, October 29, 2013 Intermediate Adult Wheel Class: Tuesdays PM 6:30-8:30, Oct 29 - Dec 10, 2013
Saturday, October 12, 2013 Saturday Adult Try It! Class Oct 12th, 9am-Noon (3-Hour)
Saturday, September 21, 2013 Jane Emory Birthday Party
Saturday, September 21, 2013 Saturday Adult Try It! Class Sept 21th, 9am-Noon (3-Hour)
Thursday, September 12, 2013 Beginner/Intermediate Adult Wheel Class: Thursdays PM , Sep 12-Oct 24 2013
Thursday, September 12, 2013 Beginner/Intermediate Adult Wheel Class: Thursdays AM 10-12, Sept 12 -Oct 24, 2013
Wednesday, September 11, 2013 Advanced beginner/Intermediate Adult Wheel Class: Wednesdays PM , Sept 11-Oct23, 2013
Wednesday, September 11, 2013 Kids class Wednesdays 4-6, 6 weeks Sept 11- Oct 23, 2013
Tuesday, September 10, 2013 Intermediate Adult Wheel Class: Tuesdays PM 6:30-8:30, Sep 10-Oct 22, 2013
Saturday, September 07, 2013 Saturday Adult Try It! Class Sept 7th, 9am-Noon (3-Hour)
Saturday, August 24, 2013 Saturday Adult Try It! Class Aug 24, 9am-Noon (3-Hour)
Saturday, August 17, 2013 Saturday Adult Try It! Class Aug 17, 9am-Noon (3-Hour)
Saturday, August 03, 2013 Saturday Adult Try It! Class Aug 3, 9am-Noon (3-Hour)
Wednesday, July 24, 2013 advanced beginner/Intermediate Adult Wheel Class: Wednesdays PM , July 24- Sept 4, 2013
Saturday, July 20, 2013 Saturday Adult Try It! Class July 20, 9am-Noon (3-Hour)
Saturday, July 06, 2013 Saturday Adult Try It! Class July 6, 9am-Noon (3-Hour)
Saturday, June 22, 2013 Saturday Adult Try It! Class June 22, 9am-Noon (3-Hour)
Friday, June 14, 2013 Parent/Child Class June 14, 2013, 5:30-8:30pm (3-Hour)
Thursday, June 13, 2013 Beginner/Intermediate Adult Wheel Class: Thursdays PM , June 13 - July 25 2013
Monday, June 10, 2013 Kids class, Monday 4-6 for 6 weeks
Saturday, June 08, 2013 Beginner/Intermediate Adult Wheel Class: Saturdays 1-3PM , June 8-July 20, 2013
Saturday, June 08, 2013 Saturday Adult Try It! Class June 8, 9am-Noon (3-Hour)
Saturday, June 08, 2013 Saturday Adult Try It! Class May 18, 9am-Noon (3-Hour)
Thursday, June 06, 2013 Beginner/Intermediate Adult Wheel Class: Thursdays AM 10-12, June 6-July 11, 2013
Wednesday, June 05, 2013 advanced beginner/Intermediate Adult Wheel Class: Wednesdays PM , June 5- July 10, 2013
Tuesday, June 04, 2013 Intermediate Adult Wheel Class: Tuesdays PM 6:30-8:30, June 4 - July 9, 2013
Saturday, May 18, 2013 Saturday Adult Try It! Class May 18, 9am-Noon (3-Hour)
Friday, May 17, 2013 Parent/Child Class May 17, 2013, 5:30-8:30pm (3-Hour)
Saturday, May 11, 2013 Saturday Adult Try It! Class May 11, 9am-Noon (3-Hour)
Saturday, May 04, 2013 Saturday Adult Try It! Class May 4 9am-Noon (3-Hour)
Saturday, April 20, 2013 Beginner/Intermediate Adult Wheel Class: Saturdays PM , Apr.20-May 25, 2013
Saturday, April 20, 2013 Saturday Adult Try It! Class Apr.20th 9am-Noon (3-Hour)
Thursday, April 18, 2013 Beginner/Intermediate Adult Wheel Class: Thursdays AM , Apr.18-May 23, 2013
Wednesday, April 17, 2013 Beginner/Intermediate Adult Wheel Class: Wednesdays PM , Apr.17-May 22, 2013
Tuesday, April 16, 2013 Beginner/Intermediate Adult Wheel Class: Tuesdays PM , Apr.16-May 21, 2013
Monday, April 15, 2013 Children's Evening class, Apr. 15-May 20, 2013
Saturday, April 06, 2013 Saturday Adult Try It! Class Apr.6th 9am-Noon (3-Hour)
Saturday, March 30, 2013 Saturday Adult Try It! Class Mar.30th 9am-Noon (3-Hour)
Friday, March 29, 2013 Parent/Child Class Mar. 29, 2013, 5:30-8:30pm (3-Hour)
Saturday, March 23, 2013 Saturday Adult Try It! Class Mar.23rd 9am-Noon (3-Hour)
Saturday, March 16, 2013 Saturday Adult Try It! Class Mar.16th 9am-Noon (3-Hour)
Saturday, March 02, 2013 Saturday Try It! Class Mar. 2nd 9am-Noon (3-Hour)
Saturday, February 23, 2013 LARGER THAN LIFE- Juried Ceramics Show
© The New Phoenix Pottery
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software